How we collect and check information
Sources
- 41 official sources (counselling authorities, NIRF, university pages), 3 pages published by colleges and 42 secondary sources, each labelled where it’s used.
- Every cutoff shows its counselling phase and source. Values no reviewed source publishes say “not reported”.
- University profiles were checked against official pages and nirfindia.org on 15 Oct 2026.
Rank matching
- You’re considered for open (OC) seats and your category’s seats; the higher (easier) closing rank applies.
- Girls are considered for general seats (labelled “Boys” in statements) and girls’ seats.
- If your category’s figure isn’t published, the OC figure stands in and is labelled.
- Fit bands: likely ≤ 85% of the closing rank, borderline ≤ 100%, reach ≤ 115%, unlikely beyond. These are estimates, not guarantees.
Known gaps
- Andhra Pradesh: most colleges have OC-only closing ranks; the official APSCHE 2025 statement wasn’t available online when we checked.
- Hostel, mess and most placement figures aren’t published by the sources reviewed.
- BITSAT 2026 application fee: not stated on any official page that could be fetched (bitsadmission.com and admissions.bits-pilani.ac.in/FD brochure blocked by robots).
- BITS Pilani city/state: the official BITS homepage does not state 'Rajasthan'; 'Pilani, Rajasthan' is taken from nirfindia.org (government source).
- Amity B.Tech selection method: 2026 prospectus does not name an entrance test; whether B.Tech uses Personal Interview vs other criteria could not be read from the PDF text. JEE Main mentioned only for scholarships.
- Amity NAAC A+: stated on an undated official recognition page; accreditation cycle/validity not stated.
- Amity establishing Act year (e.g. 2005): not stated on the official pages fetched.
- SRM and VIT Institution of Eminence status: not stated on official pages fetched (not claimed).
- VIT NAAC accreditation cycle/validity: not stated on the official page.
- All 2027 entrance cycles (SRMJEEE, VITEEE, BITSAT, Amity 2027): no official 2027 pages found; values above are the 2026 cycle.
- SRMIST group institutions (SRM University AP, Haryana, Sikkim) are listed separately as group institutions, not as SRMIST campuses, so they are excluded.
How to read NIRF rankings
- NIRF (National Institutional Ranking Framework, Ministry of Education) publishes a separate list for each category: Overall, University, Engineering, Management, College, Research, and subject lists such as Medical and Law. An institution’s rank in one list can’t be compared with its rank in another, so we always show the list and the year next to the number.
- NIRF scores institutions on five parameter groups: Teaching, Learning and Resources; Research and Professional Practice; Graduation Outcomes; Outreach and Inclusivity; and Perception. We show the total score only where NIRF publishes it.
- Below the top positions, NIRF publishes bands such as 101–150 in alphabetical order. A band is not an exact position, and we never turn it into one.
- A lower number is a better rank. A rank describes the institution as a whole in that category; it doesn’t guarantee outcomes for any one programme or student.
- Management ranks are institutional ranks in the Management category, not ranks of a particular MBA or PGDM programme.
- We hold the 2025 edition, the latest NIRF has published officially as of 15 Oct 2026. Year-on-year changes will appear only once two comparable editions are loaded.
- How we copied the lists: each official page was read and saved with its address and date; a random 10% of rows was re-read independently from the official pages and matched (181 of 181).
NAAC accreditation
- NAAC accreditation is an assessment of an institution’s quality processes for a fixed period. It is a different measure from NIRF and we never combine them.
- The grades shown are, for now, what each university states on its own official website, with the quote and link. NAAC’s own portal blocks automated checks; an editor upgrades a record to “NAAC verified” after checking the certificate.
- When a stated validity date has passed, we say so. When no record is shown, it means we haven’t verified one, not that the institution is unaccredited. A university’s grade is never copied to its affiliated colleges.
Which institutions get a profile
- Every IIT, NIT and IIM on the official lists (IIT Council, NIT Council, IIM Act and its 2025 amendment).
- Every institution with an exact rank in a main NIRF 2025 list: Overall, University, Engineering, Management, College or Research.
- The AP and Telangana engineering colleges covered by our cutoff data.
That gives 399 profiles. A further 632 institutions that appear only in subject lists or rank bands are imported and shown in the ranking lists, but don’t yet have a profile. An institution is never duplicated because its name is written differently in two lists: NIRF’s institute id links them, and names that differ are reviewed by an editor.
Reviews and community
- Reviews come from signed-in members and are published after an editor checks them. Ratings average published reviews only.
- We don’t yet verify student status. Reviews show the connection the writer declared (current student, alumni or parent) and no “verified” badge.
- Posts publish immediately; anyone can report them, and editors hide content that breaks the community guidelines.
Corrections
Use “Report an error” on any college page. Editors check reports against the original source and publish a correction notice on the page when data changes.
